Drei Kameradinnen
Drei Kameradinnen Zusatzmaterial
Drei Kameradinnen Zusatzmaterial

Sisters in Arms

  • An explosive feminist and anti-racist novel about the importance of friendship
  • 70,000 copies sold of the author's debut novel Tehran Is Peaceful At Night
  • Recommended for translation by New Books in German (Spring 2021)
  • English sample translation by Ruth Martin available 

„Shida Bazyar is a talented author whose writing will appeal to fans of Elena Ferrante, Zadie Smith and Kamila Shamsie. […] Sisters in Arms is an immersive and thought-provoking read with a strong plot and relatable characters, and which explores urgent contemporary questions around racism and sexism in society.“  New Books in German


Hani, Kasih, and Saya have shared a deep friendship ever since they were kids growing up together in the projects. After years, the three young women meet again for a few days to pick up where they left off. But regardless of where they are or what they achieve, it becomes clear again and again that they can’t escape the everyday racism that accompanies their daily lives: the glances, chatter, hatred, and outright rightwing terror. But their friendship gives them stability. Until one dramatic night shakes everything up.


Shida Bazyar shows what it means to be questioned, constantly and everywhere, because of one’s origins, but also how violence and ignorance can be met with solidarity. Drei Kameradinnen is a stirring, uncompromising, and touching novel about the extraordinary alliance between three young women and the only thing that makes a self-determined life possible in a society that doesn’t tolerate otherness: unconditional friendship.


 

Contact Foreign Rights
Sample Translations
Rights sold to

Croatia: Fraktura / Italy: Fandango / Netherlands: Nieuw Amsterdam / Turkey: Hep Kitap

  • Publisher: Kiepenheuer&Witsch
  • Release: 15.04.2021
  • 352 pages
  • ISBN: 978-3-462-05276-3
Book Cover
Drei Kameradinnen
Tabea Treichel

Shida Bazyar

Shida Bazyar, born in 1988, studied literary writing in Hildesheim, and, in addition to writing, worked in youth education for many years. Her debut novel Nachts ist es leise in Teheran came out in 2016, won the Blogger Literary Award, Ulla Hahn Prize, and Uwe Johnson Prize, among other awards, and has been translated into Dutch, Farsi, French and Turkish.

Further Titles

All Books