Frank Schätzing

The Swarm

Der Schwarm

The Swarm

Over 4 million copies sold / translated into 27 languages
A film adaptation is currently in pre-production
May 2011: Ocean Award of the Research Institute IFM-Geomar Kiel and the Deutsche Bank

Whales begin sinking ships. Toxic, eyeless crabs poison Long Island’s water supply. The North Sea shelf collapses, killing thousands in Europe. Around the world, countries are beginning to feel the effects of the ocean’s revenge as the seas and their inhabitants begin a violent revolution against mankind. At stake is the survival of the Earth’s fragile ecology – and ultimately, the survival of the human race itself.

The apocalyptic catastrophes of The Day After Tomorrow meet the watery menace of The Abyss in this gripping, scientifically realistic, and utterly imaginative thriller.



ISBN: 978-3-462-03374-8
release: 30. November -0001
1008 pages, gebunden mit SU


26,00 €
0,00 sFr
26,80 €

Rights sold to

sample translation

About the Author

Frank Schätzing, born in 1957 in Cologne, studied communication, worked as a copywriter in international agencies (BMZ, DDB) and is the co-founder of the Cologne-based advertising agency Intevi. In the 90s, he began to write novellas and satires and in 1995 he published the historical novel Tod und Teufel which first became a regional and later a nationwide bestseller. After two more novels and a collection of short stories, in 2000 Lautlos was published, a political thriller about the 1999 world economic forum, which was praised in the press as “a dazzling snap-shot of the late millennium”. His national and international breakthrough came in the spring of 2004 with his novel Der Schwarm. Since its first publication more than 4.5 million copies have been sold and it was published in 26 countries. His latest thriller Breaking News was published in March 2014. Frank Schätzing lives and works in Cologne.

Other titles: Die dunkle Seite (1997), Nachrichten aus einem unbekannten Universum (2006), Limit (2009), illustrated edition of Nachrichten aus einem unbekannten Universum (2010).

Awards: Corine Award (2004), German Science Fiction Prize (2005), The Golden Feather (2005)