Katja Lange-Müller

The Last Ones

Die Letzten

The Last Ones

Kleist Prize 2013
Günter Grass Prize – From Authors to Authors, 2017

East-Berlin during the 70s: A woman and three men on the fringes of society. As a quartet of losers working in a private printery they are a ticking time bomb.
In her novel Katja Lange-Müller tells the story of the end – the end of a professional group, of a technology and of a social class. And finally, she tells the story of a phantastic subversive operation ...
A masterpiece of laconic humor and linguistic precision.



ISBN: 978-3-462-02929-1
release: 30. November -0001
144 pages, gebunden mit SU


14,50 €
0,00 sFr
15,00 €

Rights sold to

About the Author

Katja Lange-Müller was born in East Berlin in 1951. She relocated to West Berlin in 1984 and published her first book Wehleid-Wie im Leben in 1986. The same year she won the Ingeborg-Bachmann-Preis. Among others she also won the Alfred-Döblin-Preis and the Wilhelm-Raabe-Preis. Further titles are Kasper Mauser – Die Feigheit vorm Freund (1988), Verfrühte Tierliebe (1995), Die Letzten (2000), Die Enten, die Frauen und die Wahrheit (2003) and Böse Schafe (2007). Rights to her works have been sold to Argentina, Croatia, Czech, France, Italy, Korea, Netherlands, Poland, Romania and Turkey.

Further titles by the author:
Böse Schafe (Angry Sheep)
Kasper Mauser (Kasper Mauser)
Verfrühte Tierliebe (Premature Love of Animals)
Die Enten, die Frauen und die Wahrheit (The Ducks, the Women and the Truth)
Drehtür (Revolving Door)
Das Problem als Katalysator (The Problem as Catalyst. Frankfurt Lectures on Poetics)